Swing and Big Band Music

Follow the big band sound through 2017....

Room21 Big Band is a 22-piece band featuring 4 vocalists - including The Axholme Sisters who sing an Andrews Sisters tribute. The band is based in Haxey (in North Lincolnshire just south of the Humber Bridge) and we draw our musicians from Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire and South Yorkshire.

A regular performer at social events, dinner dances and 1940s occasions across the region, our ‘Fabulous Forties Nights’ are extremely popular and the band has played at Bawtry Hall (wartime HQ for Bomber Command), at Duxford Imperial War Museum (annual Sally B Flying Fortress Day), at the popular afternoon dances at Bridlington Spa and also at Brodsworth Hall and Gardens (English Heritage)

The band specialises in 1940s music including Glenn Miller, Count Basie and Frank Sinatra. Repertoire is drawn from 1930s, 1940s and 1950s featuring favourites such as ‘In the Mood’, ‘Moonlight Serenade’, 'Tuxedo Junction’, ‘Song of India’ and vocals including Fly Me to The Moon’, ‘Lady is a Tramp’, ‘I’ve Got You Under My Skin’ and I’ve Got My Love to Keep Me Warm’. Our Axholme Sisters’ numbers include ‘Boogie Woogie Bugle Boy’, ‘Don’t Sit Under the Apple Tree’ and 'Oh! Johnny Oh! Johnny Oh!'.

Band leader Nigel Robson says, “The enthusiasm and love for big band music is greater than ever and the energy of Room21 Big Band captures it – keep music live!”

Book Now

Upcoming bookings

Summer Music in the Gardens

Brodsworth Hall and Gardens

Sunday 3 September 2017

Centenary Masquerade Ball for Leonard Cheshire Homes

The Assembly Rooms, Bath

Saturday 23 September 2017

Independents' GaINsborough 1940s Dance

Queen Elizabeth High School, Gainsborough

Saturday 21 October 2017 at 7.30pm

10th Anniversary Celebration Concert

Haxey Methodist Chapel

Sunday 19 November at 2.30pm

Charity Ball

Retford

Saturday 25 November 2017

Fabulous Forties Night - with a Christmas twist!

Wrawby Village Hall

Saturday 2 December 2017 at 7.30pm

Poppy Ball

Doncaster

Saturday 14 April 2018

Swing into Summer

Brodsworth Hall and Gardens

Sunday 6 May 2018

Dambusters Ball

The Old Drill Hall, Gainsborough

Saturday 19 May 2018

The Fabulous Forties!

Nicholas House, Haxey

Saturday 16 June 2018

The Fabulous Forties!

Appleby

Saturday 14th July 2018

BTRS Charity Ball

Ye Olde Bell, Barnby Moor

Saturday 6 October 2018